Entertainment News

Rajnikanth @ Theatre Fest

Posted on: August 26, 2009

“Theatre will never die… it will stay forever…,” said Kollywood superstar Rajnikanth, at the closing ceremony of ‘Nianivalaigal’, a drama festival organised by Nadigar Sangam, in Chennai.

The superstar reminisced his humble beginning as a theatre artiste. “I started my career on stage. I have done over 25 plays in Bangalore. When my friends saw my performance on stage, they encouraged me to act in films. The first thing I did was to come to Chennai and join the film institute.”

Rajni also remembered the day he was denied permission to enter the premises of Nadigar Sangam. “In 1979, I was denied entry on the Nadigar Sangam premises when I came on my scooter to watch the play ‘Ashok Chakravarthi’ featuring Sivaji Ganesan,” he said.

Rajnikanth praised the contributions of MGR, Sivaji, Manorama, Vijaykanth, Sarath Kumar and Radha Ravi towards Nadigar Sangam.

Anjali Devi, M N Rajam, Manorama, Sarathkumar, Radha Ravi, Radhika and Varalaxmi Sarathkumar were among the attendees.

A play featuring Sarath Kumar, Radharavi and Swathi was staged at the function.

Source: http://www.filmysouth.com

Leave a Reply

Archives

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 3,913 hits
